A little bit of homemade goodness.

Everyday I become more and more of a domestic goddess. At the beginning of this year I decided that last Christmas was ridiculous on the purse strings. So I pledged to make all of my presents through the year. So far it is going well, although I have not yet started on the Christmas to come presents. Today it is my Nanna’s birthday and having made no plans for it I decided to use ingredients I already have to make her some cupcakes.

My final result

I already had the presentation box from my last visit to lakeland (I just couldn’t resist and I’m now glad I didn’t).  The butter icing is blue as that is the only colour I had left in my baking cupboard and I found some chocolate sprinkles in the back. My boyfriend politely said that the butter icing is nice but not quite right. When I asked him to elaborate he said he couldn’t put his finger one it. Not very helpful at all but there we go.

The plan was to make a total of 12, which would mean 6 for Nanna, then 2 for us at home and 4 for my boyfriend to take to work for him and his work friends. However, this plan was sabotaged by my spaniel cross called Chappie. Unlike my boyfriend it turns out that he did enjoy them and had no complaints (I could tell this because 1 just wasn’t enough…he devoured 2!)

The half eaten evidence!

The guilty culprit!

At least I can say someone enjoyed my cakes :-p

Now all I need to do is clean myself up (my once black t-shirt is now white) and take my sweet treats across.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sally
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 12:10:57

    Oooh, they look lovely. I love the box – I must get some of those as my icing always gets squished.

    Reply

    • lovelysewnsew
      Aug 24, 2011 @ 07:16:38

      Thank you! They make it so much easier to transport them. They are from Lakeland and come in packs of two. I think I saw other designs and sizes when I was in there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

