Sunday Catch-up

Hey there,

It’s been a couple of days since my last post and I have been busy busy busy. Partly with crafting but also partly with life in general. First of all I need to say goodbye to my trusty sewing machine. It means that this is going to be a slightly long post. I just got extremely fed up with my cotton real constantly flying off of my sewing machine (the spool snapped off a long time ago and so have been using the inside of a biro). Plus it doesn’t actually belong to me, I actually borrowed it about 2/3 years ago from my mum and it really is about time it went back :-p

My old trusty sewing machine

As you can see at the top of the sewing machine the biro is slightly wonky from all the times the cotton reels have flown across my craft room. But my mum will continue to use it so I know it is going to a good home.

Now I need to welcome my new sewing machine into my life. Hellooooo beautiful!

My new sewing machine

Sewing machines are a bit like cars…my old one was very boxy and had lots of straight lines (like an old car) and my new one is very rounded with lots of curved edges (like a more modern car). Although it is not an all singing and all dancing it is perfect for what I need it for at the moment. It’s got a couple of decorative stitches, I can use it for my applique patchwork and (once the correct foot arrives) I will be able to do free quilting (I think that’s what its called).

I plan on making a new crazy patchwork cover for it.

I’ve been on the glass workshop and made four coasters. Each one being different in style and colour. I enjoyed the workshops so much that I booked to go on three more! The next one being next Thursday when we will be making a curved free standing structure that we will be able to put a candle behind.

My coasters before being fired

Hopefully, once its been fired the hard edges will be taken away and they will become more rounded and soft. Luckily we were given some practice time at the beginning of the workshop, which is great as it turns out I am not a natural at cutting glass. Curves I can do as it is less obvious that I have ‘gone wrong’ but I don’t think they are too bad.

Has anyone else made things from glass before? I would be interested in seeing because the things the tutor had made in her workshop were just stunning. One day that will be me!

On Friday I decided that I really needed an apron. Especially considering how much mess I make whenever I cook in the kitchen. So off I went to have a look in my fabric stash to see what co-ordinating fabrics I had and to find a tutorial on the internet. This is the result!

My apron

 

The apron open flat

This should protect me from any rogue flour or sauce when cooking! If it doesn’t I may have to just cut three holes (two for my arms and one for my head) out of a bin liner! :-p

Leave a Reply

