Last Thursday I went to another glass workshop where I made a framed piece. I am actually getting quite good at cutting the glass and I must say I am getting more confidence with my designs. Although this could easily become my downfall but time will tell. Maybe one day I will get sooooo good that I will be able to have my own kiln. I would also need a larger house to accommodate the kiln but that is a small technicality.

Glass before the kiln

When it comes out of the kiln it will be glued (with extremely strong glue) onto a lovely dark frame. Each of the three pieces will be kept separate and have a space between but will stay in the same frame. I think this definitely adds another dimension to an otherwise typical picture.

My next glass workshop is to learn to make a bowl so am going to have to start looking around for ideas. If you have any feel free to send them across.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brooke
    Oct 28, 2011 @ 18:57:57

    You are making me miss my days of doing stain glass in college!

    I’m not completely sure I understand the kiln version of glass making – I know I’ve seen it, but I never realized it was made using a kiln. I’m curious to learn how you can make a bowl (or anything 3D for that matter).

    Reply

    • lovelysewnsew
      Oct 30, 2011 @ 08:32:26

      Apparently you heat it in the kiln flat so that all the different glass pieces fuse together, then let it cool down and then put it in again but this time over a bowl mould so that it takes the shape of the bowl. I’ve never actually used a kiln but the lady that runs the workshop I go to always tells me about what she is going to do. I’d love to have a go though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

